15-min Chickpea mint houmous

There are certain foods which if you’ve made it once, you never buy from shops again… for me chickpea houmous is one of them. Another is custard, which reminds me, it has been a while since I made custard for Zuppa Inglese or crumbles…next on my list.

I still have my jar of opened Tahini so finally bought a can of chickpeas last weekend. I also had some fresh mint which I bought for my spinach and mint pea soup, and because they go off so quickly, I added them to my houmous for a bit a variety.

Makes a bowl (fills 2 x 350g jam jars)

Ingredients:
1 can of chickpeas (drained weight ~240g)- I don’t bother removing the skins
2 heaped Tbsp tahini (Sesame paste)
3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Freshly squeezed juice of 1 lemon
Fresh mint leaves ~2 tsp
A small clove of garlic
Salt to taste

Method:
1. Rinse the chickpeas 2 – 3 times and tip into a saucepan.
2. Add enough water to cover 2 inches above the chickpeas and boil for about 8 min.
3. Drain and transfer to the blender.
4. Add the mint leaves and garlic.
5. Blend till smooth.
6. Transfer to a big bowl, add lemon juice, olive oil and tahini. Stir to mix.
7. Add salt and stir well.

I have stored 1 jar in the freezer, they keep well. If stored in the fridge, they should be eaten within 3-4 days.

p1040057

Lunch for tomorrow with homemade bread, super healthy high in proteins, fibre and folate.

Leave a Reply

