Pandan toast – 1 proof only

I had some frozen pandan leaves and was itching to make some pandan bread. I am so happy to find this simple recipe, manage to start with getting the dough ready, leave it to rise whilst I went off to teach tuition, and bake it when I got back!

I found the initial killer toast recipe from Victoria Bakes and have tried that too. This pandan one came from Bake with Paws with slight modification. – Thanks both!

INGREDIENTS:

260g bread flour
1 teaspoons instant dry yeast
2 Tablespoons caster sugar
½ teaspoon salt
180g — made up of 2 small eggs + full cream milk blended with 6-8 green parts of pandan leaves to get the extract
30g butter (room temperature)

Method:
1. Mix flour, salt, sugar and yeast in a big mixing bowl.
2. Add eggs and pandan milk mixture. **I would recommend adding half first and work to get a dry dough, then add the rest gradually. I added all at once and the dough was very sticky and difficult to work with.
3. When dough is slightly easier to work with, add butter.
4. Knead vigorously till you get an elastic smooth dough. Check with the ‘windowpane test’. It took me a good 30min — the initial difficulty was because the dough was so sticky. THen it was probably because I got a bit tired!
5. When the dough is well kneaded, separate into 2 or 3 portions.
6. Roughly flatten and roll each portion like a mat.
7. Place in a loaf tin and leave to rise in a warm place for about an hour or till doubled in size.
8. Preheat the oven to 180deg C with a small tray of water in the oven. Bake for 25 – 30min in the middle rack of the oven, until the top is nicely browned and bread sounds hollow when tapped at the botton.

Results:
I love it, and my boyfriend too! pandan-toast-one-fermentation-1We had it for breakfast the next day and a big 1/3 was gone.It the first time too that I managed to bake a pandan – something and getting such a lovely green. Very pleased.

Leave a Reply

