Mango Yoghurt Chiffon Cake

I wanted to make beloved a Singapore chiffon cake for New Year’s day lunch when my friends come over, and because I have some ripe mango and yoghurt, I thought I’ll try making Mango Yoghurt Chiffon Cake after seeing it on Anncoo Journal. I’m also determined to perfect my chiffon cake making skill – I”m still only in the learning stage, as you will see from my results :/

Ingredients

The batter:
1 cup cake flour (** but because I can’t seem to get cake flour I made it: 1 cup plain flour – remove 2 Tbsp; add in 2 Tbsp cornflour)P1030884.JPG
6 egg yolks (small – medium) at room temp
2 Tbsp caster sugar
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
40ml vegetable oil
3 Tbsp fresh mango puree with 135 ml plain yoghurt

Meringue:
6 egg whites
1/2 tsp white wine vinegar (or cream of tartar)
3 Tbsp caster sugar

Method:

Preheat oven without fan to 170deg C.

1. Beat the egg yolk with sugar till light and pale yellow
2. Add in vegetable oil, mango puree/yoghurt and mix well
3. Sift in the flour, baking powder and salt. Alternate between sifting and stirring the mixture.

p1030878
4. Beat the egg whites at low speed till foamy.
5. Add white wine vinegar
6. Add in sugar gradually while still beating the egg whites.
7. Increase to higher speed and beat till stiff peaks are formed.

p1030879
8. Scoop 1/3 of meringue and stir into the egg yolk batter. Mix till no more egg whites can be seen.
9. Add another 1/3 meringue and fold.
10. Add the rest of the meringue and fold, ensuring no more egg white streaks are seen.

Gently pour into a 23 cm chiffon cake tin. Drop tin on to the kitchen top from about 10cm high; do this 2-3 times to remove big air bubbles that might be trapped in the mixture.

Bake at 170deg C for 10min then reduced to 160 deg C for 40 min. Check that the top doesn’t get too brown or getting burnt.
Once it is finished, remove from the oven and immediately invert the tin, ensure to elevate it.

p1030889

Results:
Taste was very good, just the right sweetness and the cake actually melts in the mouth. However, there was a big hole in a part of the cake; I probably did not bang enough on the kitchen top before baking.

I had to adapt the recipe a little as I have a very inaccurate weighing scale!

The cake also did not deflate too much, which I always feared it will, so I am happy with this. However, upper half was a bit moist, whereas bottom half was perfect chiffon cake look and texture. Perhaps I need to increase the oven temperature, increase total time to 1 hr and tent to prevent the top from burning. The top was at risk of being burnt.

With such imperfect looking cake, I do not wish to serve it at the New Year’s lunch so I shall attempt again tonight!

Leave a Reply

